YOU are normal!

normal-235x300The past couple of days I  helped a mom delcutter some areas in her home. These areas are some of the hardest to tame because they are used daily by multiple people (pantry, laundry room, and the bonus room) During this time I was reminded of something that I have noticed over the years when working with clients and honestly I have even heard comments like this from friends, “I bet you don’t have messy closets like this” “I bet you don’t save things like this” “Have you ever helped someone like me?” “I bet you don’t shop at Target” These comments don’t hurt my feelings they only make me realize just how hard we are on ourselves. Myself included.

I did not start a professional organizing business because I have all the answers. I started my business because I wanted to help others live with less clutter. It does not mean that I don’t have clutter and yes, I shop at Target.

What I have learned over the years from you and from my own experience is that we are always comparing our lives, our bodies, our homes, and so on and so forth. I believe that we do these things because we just want to know that we are “normal”. What is “normal” though? When we start questioning “Am I normal” “Is this normal”. We often feel like no one understands and no else has problems. Do you ever find yourself feeling like this?

Well I don’t know what “normal” is because my “normal” is not your “normal.” What I do know is that if we all focused on ourselves and what we can control, I think we all would have a lot less stress.
I know this is easier said than done. So cliché’

What I can tell you is that your neighbor that you’ve been wondering if  her closets are  yours? The answer is does it matter? Don’t compare yourself to anyone but YOU! Change the things you can change. Work on the things that are going to make a difference in YOUR life. Don’t worry about someone else’s “normal.” Their “normal” may not be as good as your “normal.” Remember: the grass is NOT always greener. It is only green where you water it.

How do I know YOU are “normal” and I am “normal?”  Well, because we all have the same daily struggles we just deal with our struggles or in some cases don’ deal with the struggles. We all have  to get dinner on the table. We all have piles of laundry. We all question ourselves and our decisions and whether they are right or wrong. We all have nights where we go to bed wondering if we yelled at our kids too much that day. We all go to bed at night wondering all the same things. yes. Your friend, neighbor, relative, boss have the same thoughts, questions just like you.  We are all trying to do the best that we can. That is all any of us know. Life does not come with a handbook. We have to figure it out as we go. We will make mistakes. We are doing it right. We are “normal.”

Imagine if we stopped judging. Stopped assuming. Stopped comparing.

What if it were that easy?

Just my two sense,
Michelle

Leave a Reply

