Moms’ Night Out Movie Review

Image

 

“Life is about finding the  meaning, and the joy and the purpose in all the chaos” quote from Patricia Heaton

Last week my husband and I went to a free screening of a new movie hitting theaters on Mother’s Day weekend.  Moms’ Night Out.

 Watch this quick video that talks about the heart of the movie:

I don’t want to give too much away but what I can tell you is that IT WILL resonate with YOU! No matter where you are on your parenting journey. Even if you are not a mom, take your mom. This movie will resonate with so many, including husbands/Dads. Why? Because it is real. By real, I mean, Sarah Drew will reach into your heart and make you feel as if you are her. I have never watched a movie that touched me the way this movie did. I have to be honest this is not at all what I thought the movie would be about. I honestly thought I was going to watch the wives version of Hall Pass. This was not the case. It was refreshing. Why? There was no sex, no swearing, no drugs, no alcohol. Sarah Drew represents every woman out there. We are all struggling within ourselves and she brings this to the big screen in a very real way. You will laugh and you WILL cry. It is faith-based but not in the shove religion down your throat kind of way. It was just the right amount. The real kind.

 Here is a funny scene that is so me!

youtu.be/rJI_0msEDE0 

 

 (come on you know you have done it too! and you know you laughed!)

My favorite scene is a conversation between Sarah Drew and Trace Adkins. I bawled my eyes out. The overall message in the movie is that YOU (yes, you and you and you and me and everyone else) are enough.

 I know that as a mom I struggle with am I enough? Am I doing it right? Am I screwing up my kids? We often feel like we are in this alone. We want someone to validate what we are doing. We want our husbands to understand and in this movie, he does. He wants her to be happy. He believes in her. Most importantly, we have to believe in ourselves.Image

 

I was so appreciative to have had the opportunity to have been invited to see the special screening because my parenting journey right now is very challenging. I instantly resonated with Sarah Drew as she is a mom who wants to blog but feels like she has nothing to say. She doesn’t understand all of her feelings that she experiences on a day-to-day basis. As moms we tell our children that everything is going to be ok, but at the end of the day who tells us that everything will be ok?

  Here is the official trailer:  

http://youtu.be/Leb6Vnhbp1A 

Mark your calendars and take the whole family! Yes, the whole family. This is actually a movie that you can watch as a family and not have to worry about anything your kids will see. If you want to see this with your girlfriends or just your husband, or even go watch it alone. This movie is going to be the start of something great. If we want to see more movies like this then spread the word. 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

