What I learned in 2013 and who I want to be in 2014!

Image

 

I am not a New Year’s resolution type of person. I like to make goals, do vision boards and dream the bigger picture! One of the ways that I can achieve success is to start with me! This new idea came about during holiday break. The Fall seemed to be full of unexpected challenges ( I felt this way last year as well, so hello turn on the light Michelle) so by the time December rolled around I was ready for some down time. During the holidays we travel back home, which is upstate New York. We are usually there for 7-10 days. This is usually when I get some down time because I am away from my home and all my “projects”. It was getting down to the wire and I still had a lot of shopping to do along with well everything else. Then insert oldest son getting the flu days before we are supposed to leave. Now by this point, all 3 of my boys had taken turns getting sick prior to this including myself for 3 weeks (again Hello Michelle, are you listening to your body?). So that was the straw that broke the camel’s back for me and I made the decision that we were not going to travel this year. It was very hard for me but my body was telling me not to do it.

As hard as it was not being with family it was the best decision. We ended up having a quiet and relaxing holiday break with our boys. We very rarely get moments like this as all 3 of our boys play year round baseball which means the season starts about February and ends just before Thanksgiving – and then we spend a few weeks doing all the holiday stuff! So this was nice! There was nothing! I mean nothing on my calendar as I was not supposed to be here! I quickly realized how much I needed this down time. It felt great! I watched a lot of movies, even took naps ( I never nap unless I am sick) ate and spent A LOT of time reflecting on the past twelve months and how I wanted the next twelve months to go. What did I like? What did I want to change? What did I learn? And so here I am sharing my thoughts with you!

My overall change in all areas of my life is to simplify! I am a pretty simple person (hubby might not agree with that statement) so I like to keep things simple.  I am always looking for ways to simplify and for me simplify means back to the basics. The systems that I had in place were not working for me so it is time evaluate and improve! This is a new concept for me this year so bear with me.

 Image

 

  1. I learned that I do not like cutting coupons, sorting them and filing them away. I have gotten real slack in that area in that I keep them in a pile in the kitchen drawer and pull them out when needed. This was not effective.  I will be looking into a system to really simplify my system.
  2. My family needs to eat better.  This is something that I have wanted to do for some time and we start out doing well and then boom! Baseball season starts and we find ourselves getting take out, eating out, and well, blowing our food budget. This time my hubby wants to make the change too and so we are going to work on changing our eating habits.
  3. I do not like to meal plan. I spend time putting things together (hence the above statement trying to eat better) only to have my household complain. Trying to find the happy medium because what my kids want to eat hubby and I are trying not to and what we want to eat they don’t like. I have never really been a boxed, prepackaged, out of the can person anyway, but I also don’t cook from scratch. I am somewhere in the middle.  I want to simplify the meal planning process and actually stick to the meal plan once I do. I am famous for “oh, I don’t feel like that tonight so let’s have something else” (aka take out!). Which leads to the next area…
  4. I am not good at sticking to a budget. (aka Food Budget) My goal is to research different methods and find one that seems to make sense for me and actually stick to it! I have been trying to conquer this one for years.

 

 

Now, for the more personal side:

 Image

  1. I want to focus more of my energy into being grateful and sharing with others.
  2. I want to teach my boys how to give back by doing different activities with them to show them and let them experience it
  3. I want to take more unscheduled down time and I recommend you do it too!
  4. I learned that I have anxiety that I had not had prior to raising teens
  5. I learned that no one can prepare you for the roller coaster ride that you are going to take with your teens
  6. I learned that you don’t have to let your children fail in order for them to learn. I had no idea how hard it would be to watch them make life altering mistakes that will affect them and their future.I learned that I  need to stop trying to do it all and ask for help
  7. I am continuing to learn to complain less and be thankful for the little things that we all take for granted
  8. I have learned so much about the importance of having a positive mind set by daily conversations that I have with my childhood best friend who is battling stage IV brain cancer. I am so proud of her. It has been three years since she was diagnosed, so she is beating the odds every day! If she can I can!
  9. I learned that I am good at helping others and seeing the bigger picture for them but I get lost looking at my own
  10. I learned that I don’t have all the time in the world and all those “projects” that I thought I had time to do with the boys before leaving home well, it comes a lot faster than you think. I can’t go back and start over so I have to learn to let that go but what I can do is focus on not letting time go by without doing some of those bucket list items!
  11. I’ve learned a lot about myself and what I want to do by doing a lot of digging deep and really asking myself over and over what it is that  I really want to do and what do I need to do to accomplish this?

So, what did you learn about yourself and who do you want to be in 2014?

 

Cheers,

Michelle

Leave a Reply

