Happy Valentine’s Day from my heart to yours!

What does Valentine’s Day mean to me?

The first time I realized that Valentine’s Day was not about jewelry, chocolates, flowers, going out to dinner was when I met Bill. It was our first Valentine’s Day together. I had driven 2.5 hours in a snow storm to see him and when I arrived I was welcomed with a very familiar smell ~ the smell of warm brownies! No kidding! Yes, he actually made me a pan of brownies. No one had ever done that before for me. I was so touched that he came home from work, made brownies and waited for me. He had me at brownies…just saying!

Early in our marriage when our boys were young and had an early bedtime we would celebrate by eating with them and then once they were in bed we would make filet and lobster tails and enjoy quiet time just the two of us. There were also times when we hand write our own Valentine’s to each other. I loved doing this because it was a way for us to stop and take the time to think of the other person. It was a great way to reconnect. Life is so busy that if you do not stop and make the time for the little things you forget all the things that made you fall in love in the first place.

Valentine’s Day has never been about material items. I truly believe that is why our relationship is so strong today.

Now that our three boys are older and do not go to bed early we decided years back that we would start making Valentine’s Day a day to stop and celebrate our family. I know many of you feel that it is just a made up Holiday by Hallmark. I agree to some degree. I don’t count it as a Holiday per say but I use it as a reminder on the calendar to stop and celebrate our love. Not just as husband and wife, but as a family. We have our boys make their cards to give each other and they have to write what they like best about each other. This may sound corny to some but I have boys and I want to teach them to express themselves. I want them to appreciate each other and if I do not make them take the time to do that we would never do it. Plain and simple. It is sad that we live life that like, we take it for granted until something bad happens. Well I try not to do that. I use those made up Holidays as a reminder to stop and take time for each other. We have three boys in three different age brackets so it is not easy and we get very busy all year going from one event to another.

We celebrate together as a family and the reason for the day is our love for one another.

I hope that one day my sons will carry on some of these traditions that we share together and if not I hope they create new ones to share with their families.

You can read a little more here about how we celebrate as a family:

Ladies’ Home Journal

Reach out to someone and just say hello… you never know who needs to hear from you.

I hope that you will take some time this Valentine’s Day to do something to celebrate YOU!

Happy Valentine’s Day!
Michelle

3 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day from my heart to yours!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Happy Valentine’s Day from my heart to yours! « Meet MichelleM -- Topsy.com

  2. This is truly great work. I’m so very proud. It’s wonderful to see how well you can express your feelings and ideas in such a lovely creative way.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: What does Valentine’s Day mean to me? | Michelle Monroe Morton

Leave a Reply

